This concert will begin at 7:30pm and will last around 75 minutes with no interval, ending around 8.45pm.
György Ligeti – Étude no. 7: Galamb Borong
Zhenyan Li – Joker
György Ligeti – Étude no. 2: Cordes à vide
Murrough Connolly – Quiver
György Ligeti – Étude no. 11: En suspens
Fraz Ireland – That looks like a good book, what’s it called?
György Ligeti – Étude no. 10: Der Zauberlehrling
Frederic Rzewski – De Profundis


Psappha’s pianist and new artistic director Benjamin Powell performs a programme of contemporary piano music culminating in Frederic Rzewski's earth-shattering 'De Profundis' for speaking pianist. Based on Oscar Wilde's letter of the same name – written to his former lover Lord Alfred 'Bosie' Douglas – the work vividly portrays the wildly changing moods of Wilde as he moves from despondency to delirium. The first half of the concert intersperses premieres from Zhenyan Li, Fraz Ireland, and Murrough Connolly with a selection of Ligeti’s ground-breaking Études on the occasion of his centenary year.

Back to all events


 Hallé St Peter's, 40 Blossom St, Ancoats, Manchester M4 6BF, UK